Rainbow Six Siege Operation: Ember Rise Revealed, Introduces Battle Pass

Operation: Ember Rise is the newest update for Rainbow Six Siege bringing two new Operators, a reworked map, ranked system changes, and a Battle Pass.

At Six Major Raleigh 2019, Ubisoft revealed Operation: Ember Rise, the newest content drop for Rainbow Six Siege. Like previous Operations, two new Operators are introduced, as well as a new map rework, Ranked system changes, and the Battle Pass that will certainly shake things up.

Amaru is the attack Operator for Ember Rise. Thanks to her unique ability, the Garra Hook, she is the most mobile Operator to join the Rainbow Six Siege roster. Her primary goal is to change the flow of the game as she is able to ambush defenders by quickly entering windows and hatches faster than any Operator before. She does have her fair share of weaknesses, as she is unarmed while she traverses with the Garra Hook and is a bit slow when readying her equipped weapon.

Rainbow Six Siege Operation: Ember Rise

Ember Rise’s defense Operator is Goyo. With his Volcan Shield, a deployable shield equipped with an explosive canister on the back that can be triggered with a bullet, he is ideal with creating choke points and slowing attackers. Synergizing with the other Operators’ abilities is the best way to get the most out of the Volcan Shield. However, it can also be used against you as it can be triggered by the opposing team.

The new map rework coming courtesy of Ember Rise is Kanal. Now part of the Ranked playlist, the reworked Kanal brings a ton of quality-of-life improvements to the map. It maintains most of what you remember of old Kanal with slight improvements to make it more competitive.

Operation: Ember Rise also brings a few new options for players who want to experience Ranked play in Rainbow Six Siege. Anyone who is essentially the best Siege players on the planet will be welcomed to the new Champions rank which is granted to players with over 5000 MMR. There will also be an Unranked playlist that brings all the rules of the Ranked playlist but doesn’t affect your actual rank. Lastly, there is a new map rotation for the Ranked playlist. Here are the maps you can look forward to this season:

  • Kanal
  • Oregon
  • Clubhouse
  • Consulate
  • Bank
  • Chalet
  • Kafe Dostoyevsky
  • Border
  • Skyscraper
  • Coastline
  • Villa
  • Outback

There are also some quality-of-life changes being implemented. This includes a new Operator menu which is much cleaner and organized than the current one in place. There are also new updates from the player behavior cell including leave penalty escalation, automatic defuser drop, ongoing match playlist lock, and squad reverse friendly fire.

Rainbow Six Siege Operation: Ember Rise

Last but certainly not least, Rainbow Six Siege will now have a Battle Pass similar to Fortnite or Apex Legends. The intention behind the new Battle Pass is to bring even more rewards to players, as well as bring a progression system to the game.

Releasing in two phases, the first phase will begin when Operation: Ember Rise drops. A sort of test phase for the Battle Pass, the “Mini Battle Pass,” which is titled “Call Me Harry,” will only last seven days and have seven tiers and will be free for all Rainbow Six Siege players. Completing the pass will garner you a unique Harry Chibi Charm. To progress through the new system, you earn battle points as you play the game which will unlock tiers and different rewards.

The second phase will launch during Year 4 Season 4 this year. This will mark the beginning of the first full Battle Pass for Rainbow Six Siege. Unlike the mini Battle Pass from the first phase, there will be a free and premium Battle Pass to choose from. Regardless of which you choose, you will earn rewards simply garnering battle points as you play the game.

The Battle Pass will also give the development team the opportunity to expand on the Rainbow Six Siege universe by telling stories about its Operators. During the Year 4 Season 4 Battle Pass, the story will focus on Harry, the new Commander of Team Rainbow, as well as feature other Operators from the game’s roster.

Rainbow Six Siege Operation: Ember Rise is coming to the test server tomorrow, August 19, 2019. It will then be released sometime after for PC, Xbox One, and PS4.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply